Mrs. Howard

Welcome to Mrs. Howard's 5C Classroom. This website is your guide to our classroom. It holds all the information you and your child need to know, what is expected of students, and what is needed to prepare for each class. Our class is based on mutual respect for God, ourselves, fellow classmates, instructors, and guests .


Grading:

Grading is segmented and weighted into the following:

Tests, Essays and Projects =40%

Quizzes/Short Responses=20%

Homework=20%

Classwork, Preparedness, Participation =20%


A quiz, test, or project receiving less than 70% will require a parent signature. Parents will be contacted after 3 missed homework assignments.

I understand that circumstances arise which may hinder the completion of assignments. As I believe in an open and honest line of communication, do not hesitate to contact me when something arises. Together we will be able to design a plan for success.

Extra Learning: I will be available each Thursday from 2:45-3:30 to assist students with questions pertaining to English Language Arts. Periodically I may request a student attend, or you may also request attendance. Please let me know 24 hours in advance, if possible, that your child will be attending.


Assignment Calendar

There are no events to display

Homework

About Homework

**** PLEASE SEE CALENDAR BELOW FOR HOMEWORK AND DUE DATES! Click on the link for more information**** Homework is an important aspect of a students' education. Please make sure that your child has a quiet place to work each night. Your child should spend around 20 minutes on homework in each subject area. In addition to nightly homework, students can expect to read for 30 minutes. After an assignment is completed, please review the work that your child has done and work together to make any corrections.


Religion

Practice and study of our faith is an integral component of our class community. In addition to our morning prayers, our class will hold a daily student led retreat guided from Three Minute Retreat from Loyola Press. The retreat includes a brief biblical passage, a reflection, and a prayer to help us in our daily practice. We complete our retreat with prayer intentions. Students look forward to this quiet time following lunch. Additionally, as fifth grade instruction focuses on the sacraments, we will meet, read, and discuss the text. Some work and writing may be required at home. You can find these assignments on the calendar below.

ELA

Word Study

Word Study is comprised of explicit grammar instruction, Wordly Wise, and Greek and Latin Challenge. Each week we will examine lessons in grammar. Homework will be assigned on Tuesday and Wednesday nights, and tests and quizzes given throughout a unit. Each week we will also delve into a new lesson in our Wordly Wise book to help build vocabulary and review reading comprehension strategies. Students can expect to complete work at home throughout the week with appropriate pacing and guidance from me. Each week students will have a test focusing on the vocabulary covered in the lesson. Students will also complete a Greek and Latin Challenge lesson each week.

PLEASE SEE THE CALENDAR BELOW FOR ALL HOMEWORK AND DUE DATES.

Helpful Documents / Examples

Please check this area for helpful documents, anchor charts from class, and examples.

Specials Schedule

2018-2019

Monday: Library

Tuesday : Gym

Wednesday: Art

Thursday: Music

Friday: Spanish and STREAM

Calendar

There are no events to display

Search

Screencasts to help with work:


Study site: Quizlet

Grammar Practice Link - EduPlace

https://www.eduplace.com/rdg/hme/k_5/

Religion: We Believe


Updates from Room 5C -- You will find weekly news updates from the fifth grade and 5C in this area

Classroom News

A reminder that 5th grade switches classes every day. Please contact the teacher directly for questions you may have regarding that subject. For the students in 5C : Mrs. Howard teaches Religion, ELA , Greek and Latin Roots, Wordly Wise and Grammar . Mr. Rodis teaches STREAM and Math, Mrs. Fiumara teaches Social Studies, Science and STREAM.

Extra Learning from Mrs. Howard is available on Wednesday afternoons. Please let me know if you are attending.


Calendar

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, Jun 30
Mon, Jul 1
Tue, Jul 2
Wed, Jul 3
Thu, Jul 4
Fri, Jul 5
Sat, Jul 6
Sun, Jul 7
Mon, Jul 8
Tue, Jul 9
Wed, Jul 10
Thu, Jul 11
Fri, Jul 12
Sat, Jul 13
Sun, Jul 14
Mon, Jul 15
Tue, Jul 16
Wed, Jul 17
Thu, Jul 18
Fri, Jul 19
Sat, Jul 20
Sun, Jul 21
Mon, Jul 22
Tue, Jul 23
Wed, Jul 24
Thu, Jul 25
Fri, Jul 26
Sat, Jul 27
Sun, Jul 28
Mon, Jul 29
Tue, Jul 30
Wed, Jul 31
Thu, Aug 1
Fri, Aug 2
Sat, Aug 3

Calendar & Category Legend:

  • Howard